Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BryndenLim

BP 22 Estafa

2 posts in this topic

Asking for the insights of lawyers here.

A friend borrowed my credit card to purchase things for the office. We had an agreement that she will pay me back, and she gave me a blank check as a guarantee. But now that I'm claiming for payment, she is refusing to pay me the amount needed to zero out the credit cards. And the status now is I'm the one that has to pay for her credit card transactions. I've been asking for her to pay the full amount for 6 months already but she's always coming up with an excuse not to pay. I'm considering filing BP 22 estafa against her because she's been lying about when she'll pay me the full amount. The amount she owes me is roughly Php300k excluding interest charges.

She has assets she refuses to surrender to me that can easily zero out the debt she owes me (Rolex, Cartiers)

I've deposited the check twice already to the bank and it bounced twice already. Now issuing a demand letter for her to pay.

Can anyone give me an idea of the process for filing this and the possible fees I have to expense?

soundnin714 likes this

I.

BP 22 Bouncing Checks Law only pertains to a check issued in payment of an obligation, but turns out it is drawn against an account which has insufficient funds. No element of deceit is necessary, a dishonored check is sufficient to sustain a conviction

Estafa (in relation to issuance of a bounced check) pertains when a person FRAUDULENTLY issues a check in payment of an obligation, knowing that it has insufficient or no funds. Element of Fraud is necessary.

Both these cases are criminal in nature. These are filed in order to compel the debtor to pay, considering the imprisonment involved should your debtor fails to settle the obligation.